There has been a lot of reaction to the new Star Wars: The Force Awaken’s trailer so I thought as someone who grew up with Star Wars I would share my reactions – not that they are worth much.

#1 John Boyega as a black storm trooper. Sigh. There are no black storm troopers. We discovered in Star Wars: Episode II that all storm troopers are clones of Bobba Fett’s dad, Jango Fett.

Jango Fett

I am very sorry to all of those who are racially sensitive, but I don’t think this is a race issue. I think it is much more likely Boyega’s character is pulling the same trick Luke Skywalker and Han Solo pulled in Star Wars: Episode 4, A New Hope.
Luke and Han as storm troopers

 

If you wanna sneak around an Imperial base it helps to look like a storm trooper. That seems pretty simple.

#2 Yes. It was a little weird to see an astro-droid rolling around on a ball. I’ll be waiting for someone to get frustrated with the droid and kick the ball out from under it.

#3 Too many of the storm troopers in the original series seemed dumb. It’ll be neat to see storm troopers do a H.A.L.O. jump – if that’s what they’re doing.

#4 The voice over… …Benedict Cumberbatch? Really? I know he’s everywhere right now, but he is no way affiliated with this movie. Second, Andy Serkis is affiliated with this movies and he is AWESOME. Plus Yahoo just confirmed it. Click on the word Andy Serkis in this paragraph and it should take you to the page.

#5 The new light saber. In the video there is a dark cloaked figure with a light saber that looked like something from the knights templar. Just based on the way we have seen light sabers used in previous movies I wonder how the wielder will avoid stabbing themselves with the cross hilt.

#6 Is it a big deal we did not see the original cast in the trailer  – no. I don’t think so. As I understand it the original cast is only supposed to be handing over the reigns to new characters anyway.

#7 My big concern: As a kid I was always blown away by the special affects of Star Wars. As I grew up what I loved about the movies was the way the characters drew the audience in. When you boiled Star Wars down past the special affects and gadgets it is a good character driven story. With the prequels we lost that and ended up with characters like Jar Jar Binks. The push to portray a political war movie lost the character driven heart of the movies. My big fear with the new movies is that character driven heart will remain lost. I think J.J. Abrams did a great job with the StarTrek reboot, and I think he held the character driven aspect of those movies. I’ve just been disappointed in Star Wars movies before. I don’t want to be disappointed again.

Y’all have fun,
Richard

