Audrey's-story

Okay. So here’s how this came about. One day about a month ago I was grilling hamburgers out side while trying to watch my daughter three year old daughter Audrey and my then two month old son Brock. Brock was fussing and I was pushing Brock around in the back yard in the stroller to keep him from fussing. Audrey was walking with me and said, “Daddy. Let’s make a story.”
Me: “What should the story be about?”
Audrey: “hmm… a lion and a giraffe.”

The comic above is the story we created. I hope it’s plain to see what I was going for. A well known comic book artist Jim Lee once said you can tell if a comic is really good by whether the illustrations tell the story without the words. There is no dialog with the story so I hope this comic speaks for itself.

If you haven’t figured it out one day a lion and a giraffe were playing checkers under a tree. The wind suddenly blew the checker board over. The lion with his quick paws picked up the pieces while the giraffe used his long neck to grab the board before it flew away. The lion and the giraffe worked together to put the board and the pieces back together and then spent the rest of the afternoon playing checkers.

Y’al have fun,
Richard

