wp-1479410836682.jpg

C.S. Lewis once said, he loved children’s books more as an adult than he did as a child, because as an adult he was able to put more into them, and as a result got more out of them. I love those words. Deep down I am a comic book geek and those words from a theologian I deeply respect have touched me for a long time.

I have been wondering could a comic book touch young readers in the same way C.S. Lewis’ Seven Chronicles of Narnia have touched so many. For those who have read Tokyo Ghost written by Rick Remender with artwork by Sean Murphy it is plain to see writers and artists who are not afraid to portray God as someone or something we made up to make ourselves feel better. While I thoroughly enjoy Remender’s writing and Murphy’s pencils my experience of God could not be further from this thought. However, I have trouble explaining the tension I carry about their point and my experience. Then I thought maybe a comic is the place to hash some of this out.

It should be noted I am not a comic book artist. I am a provisional elder in the United Methodist Church with a wife and three children. Free time is not a luxury I have a lot of. However, as God gives me the inspiration I think I would like to try to put a little story together to come at this idea of a God we created and the God who created us.

For that I need characters and the first I would put forward is this guy. I’ll call him “Noname,” because he doesn’t have a name yet. Noname has is a skinny ten or twelve year old boy. He hasn’t caught a growth spurt and he may not. Look at him. He’s a wimp. Now look at that hammer. It’s huge. It clearly weighs as much as he does if not twice what he does. My idea is this kid could not possibly lift that hammer on his own, and yet there is something about these two together. How might faith in something bigger than “NoName” play a role here?

Y’all have fun,
Richard

